Review: Royal Wedding (Princess Diaries #11) – Meg Cabot

royal weddingFor Princess Mia, the past five years since college graduation have been a whirlwind of activity, what with living in New York City, running her new teen community center, being madly in love, and attending royal engagements. And speaking of engagements. Mia’s gorgeous longtime boyfriend Michael managed to clear both their schedules just long enough for an exotic (and very private) Caribbean island interlude where he popped the question! Of course Mia didn’t need to consult her diary to know that her answer was a royal oui.

But now Mia has a scandal of majestic proportions to contend with: Her grandmother’s leaked “fake” wedding plans to the press that could cause even normally calm Michael to become a runaway groom. Worse, a scheming politico is trying to force Mia’s father from the throne, all because of a royal secret that could leave Genovia without a monarch. Can Mia prove to everyone–especially herself–that she’s not only ready to wed, but ready to rule as well?

Rating: 3.5/5

D’awww. ❤

Pretty sure that all of us reading this book are those who were rabid fangirls of the Princess Diaries in our teenage years – and now we get the closure we were looking for!

I’ve enjoyed some of Meg Cabot’s adult contemporary reads as well – so I kind of knew what to expect – sweet, funny, some fluff, some dramatics, and the much-desired HEA.

It did take me a little while to get into this, in that Mia’s voice initially grated on me until I got used to it – what worked for me at 14 is not necessarily what rocks for me a decade later.

But Royal Wedding contained a number of *surprise revelations* (although the thing with her parents was super cheesy), and of course, plenty of Mia-related mishaps.

A number of our favourite characters are also featured, from relatives to old school friends – and Michael, of course, is just awesome.

A must-read if you were a fan of the series!

ARC received from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

16 thoughts on “Review: Royal Wedding (Princess Diaries #11) – Meg Cabot

  1. I bought the DVDs a long time ago and I still watch them from time to time 🙂 Didn’t think to try the books, but maybe I should. Lovely review ❤

    Like

  2. Unfortunately, I’ve never read any of the Princess Diaries books, so I can’t really relate. I would imagine there’d be quite a difference now since most of its followers have grown. Hahah!

    Like

  3. I loved the Princess Diaries when I was a kid, but back then, I had a kid/pre-teen mindset and I have matured greatly over the years (case-in-point: R.L. Stine… gobbled his books back in the day, now, I can’t stand a single novel of his with the clunky writing) so I might pass on this one… it’s great that you were still able to enjoy it, though! When I have kids, at least they’ll be able to read the series from start to end 😀

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

    1. Yup – there were a number of things that irritated me with this one that I was able to skip over, but a lot of the time the books/authors you enjoyed as a teen just don’t work as an adult.

      Like

  4. I see Meg Cabot’s name pretty much everywhere. I didn’t have the best experience with one of her books but I think it was an adult novel so that’s probably why – I find them hard to get into for some reason. But this one sounds so fun!!

    Like

  5. I loved the Princess Diaries series when I was younger, the first movie was fantastic too – this one sounds kind of like a let down, but I’m glad you could enjoy it for the most part. Lovely review overall.

    Like

  6. I didn’t realize this was part of The Princess Diaries. I watched the first movie years ago and thought it was cute. Not sure how I’d feel about it now. Nice to hear you enjoyed this overall. Wonderful review! 🙂

    Like

  7. I love the princess diaries series and I loved your review. I’m so excited to read the book but it’s not avaiable yet in my country. Do you know where I can read it online or download?

    Like

Leave a comment